Drama As Court Adjourns Suit Seeking Disqualification Of Lanlehin As Oyo ADC Candidate

By Moses Adetayo


Justice Ijeoma Ojukwu of a Federal High Court, Abuja on Monday adjourned the suit seeking disqualification of the gubernatorial candidate of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) in Oyo state, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin to the 8th of February this year.

The 12 aspirants last year approached the court to protest against alleged imposition of Lanlehin as gubernatorial candidate of the party in the forthcoming elections.

It would be recalled that five out of the 12 aggrieved aspirants who are plaintiff in the suit have withdrawn from the case while others were actively prosecuting the suit.

In suit No. FHC/ABJ/CS/1144/2018, the names struck out by Justice Ojukwu include: Hon.  Festus Wale Adegoke,  Ambassador Taofeek Oladejo Arapaja, Senator Andrew Gbenga Babalola, Chief (Barr.) Tirimisiyu Ayanlowo Obisesan and Otunba Oluseye Opatoki.

Justice Ojukwu  ordered that the other Plaintiffs which includes; Dr. Nurein Aderemi Adeniran, Mr. Ayodele Adigun, Dr. Yunus Abiodun Akintunde, Chief Sharafadeen Abiodun Alli, Dr. Mohammed Kola Balogun, Engr. Rauf Aderemi Olaniyan and Engr. Aderemi Oseni should continue with the suit.

Meanwhile, there was a mild drama on the counsel to represent Chief Rashidi Adewolu Ladoja as 7th defendant in the case as High chief Ladoja briefed a new counsel to represent him and rejected the representation of Ahmed Raji SAN who is also representing Dr. Dele Ajadi, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, Chief Michael Koleoso and Dr. Busari Adebisi at the court.

The new counsel to Chief Ladoja, M.O. Olanipekun Esq. while announcing his appearance in court informed the Judge that Chief Ladoja has never briefed any other counsel to represent him in the case apart from him (Olanipekun).
The stage should be set for the hearing of the suit by 8th February, 2019 as the remaining 7 Plaintiffs vow to see the case to a logical conclusion.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.