Folarin Visits Igangan, Says Oyo Federal Lawmakers Proactive In Tackling Insecurity


Less than 24 hours after the operatives of the Nigeria Customs raided Ibarapa Community which led to the death of about three people, Chairman Senate Committee on Local Content and lawmaker representing Oyo Central Senatorial District, Senator Teslim Folarin on Saturday visited the troubled Igangan in Ibarapa North Local Government area of Oyo state.
He said the essence of a good government is the continuous ability to improve the security and welfare of the people.
The three-term senator made the remark on Thursday while meeting with victims of Igangan massacre and some traditional rulers in Ibarapa North Local Government Area, which include Oba Lasisi Adeoye (Asigangan of Igangan), Oba Sunday Titiloye Oyekanmi Gbadewolu 1 (Elenpe of Tapa Land) and Oba Emmanuel Ewuola Gborisabunmi 1 (Asawo of Ayete).
It would be recalled that no fewer than 20 people were massacred in Igangan when scores of bandits on motorcycles stormed the sleepy town in the fateful night of Saturday, 5th June 2021.
Senator Folarin while grieving with the people of Igangan stated that all the serving federal lawmakers from Oyo State had already engaging the FG’s security agencies to be proactive in tackling high wave of insecurity in all parts of the state before Governor Seyi Makinde cried out to the NASS members for interventions.
“We are not resting on our oars in ensuring adequate security of lives and properties of the people of Oyo State. I wish to reassure you that President Muhammadu Buhari-led FG is committed to ensuring that the security situation improved in light of a number of deadly attacks in Oyo State and other parts of the country” he said.
The Senator while urging Ibarapa traditional rulers, religious leaders and other stakeholders to collaborate with constituted security agencies towards ensuring adequate protections, assured that he would support the victims of the June 5 massacre with relief packages. He emphasized that he would not only reach out to the victims but also donate towards rebuilding the razed Asigangan palace.
The traditional rulers commended the Oyo Central senator for showing concern and prayed for his continuous upliftment in service to humanity.
On the entourage of Senator Folarin were Alhaji Mufutau Adisa Gbayawu, Alhaji M.K.O Olaoye, Alhaji Kamorudeen Ajisafe, Alhaji Razak Lawal Akilapa, Chief Kehinde Balogun, Alhaji Audu Marafa, Prince Gbade Lana, Alhaji Babalola, Alhaji Waheed Akinleye, Chief Lowo Obisesan, Chief Adegboyega Adegoke, Hon. Yinka Taiwo, Alhaji Shina Alabi, Alhaji Kayode Adanla, Hon. Akeem Olatunji Akogun; former state house of assembly members: Rt. Hon. Kehinde Subair, Rt. Hon. Hammed Adigun Murphy, Hon. Akin Ali, Hon. D.A Lawal, Rt. Hon. Segun Ajanaku and Hon. Kehinde Oloya. Others included Prince Tayo Oke, Mogaji (Barr.) Abiodun Akaje, Hon. Tayo Kesa, Hon. Kola Amoo, Chief (Mrs.) Funlayo Akinpelu, Chief (Mrs.) Oluremi Boluwade, Chief (Mrs.) Ashabi Adijat, Chief (Mrs.) Bolanle Badmus, Alhaja Toyin Mustapha, Mrs. Ajike J.P, Mrs. Akinpelu, Mrs. Sherifat Ishola, Alhaji Akeem Ila, Hon. Kabiru Alarape K.K, Hon. Gbeminiyi Olaniyan, Alhaji Eyinade Alobo, Hon. Belerebe Yinusa, Hon. Ismail Lawoya, Prince Muniru Olafiku, Hon. Teslim Kunle, among other notable party stakeholders.
Party leaders and stakeholders who received Senator Folarin included Hon. Tajudeen Salaudeen (former member, Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon. F.N Babalola (former Commissioner for establishment), Hon. Olagoke Rafiu (former House of Reps member), Leader Gbenro M.O, Hon. Lawal Rabiu (former executive chairman), Leader Bashiru Alawiye, Leader Ogundele Julius, Hon. Olawale Olusiji (former SA on Political Matters), Leader Sulaimon Olukoku, Leader P.A Ajayi, Leader S.O Makinde, Leader S.A Ayanleke, Leader K.O Jinadu, Leader Ogunfemi Rafiu as well as  former LGA Secretaries, which included Hon. Adeniran Musibau, Hon. Akintola Tunde and Comrade J.O Gbadamosi.
Other party stakeholders included Alhaji Gbolagade (Local Party Chairman), Mrs. Rashidat Oguntowo (Local Party Women Leader), Hon. Simiat (former Chairperson), Leader S.A Ibrahim, Hon. Azeez Omoniyi, Hon. Adeagbo Jimoh and Hon. Raji Rasaki.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.